The Association of Physicians of India;
Join API Now!

API-ICP Awards


Award Sessions

  1. Dr. D. P. Basu Young Award in Cardiology
  2. E. Merck Award
  3. Dr. J. N. Berry Memorial Award
  4. Dr. M. J. Shah Memorial Award in Tropical Medicine

There will be four award sessions at the 2016 Annual Conference of API at Hyderabad. The rules and regulations of these awards are as under:

1. Papers that are accepted for presentation in the Award Session at the Annual Conference will be divided subject-wise into four groups.

Group I : Cardiology Dr. D.P. Basu Young Award

Group II : Chest Diseases E. Merck Award

Group III : Other Specialties Dr. J.N. Berry Award

Group IV : Tropical Medicine Dr. M.J. Shah Award

The award of Dr. J.N. Berry Memorial Award and E. Merck Award are given in alternate years in Group II and III papers. At the 2016 Annual Conference Dr. J. N. Berry Award for other specialties will be awarded. Dr. D.P. Basu Young Award will be for Cardiology and Dr. M.J. Shah Memorial Award for Tropical Medicine.

The competitor must be the first author of the paper submitted for presentation at the API sessions of the Annual Conference. A testimonial must be submitted from the Head of the Institution that the major work has been done by the competitor. Papers which are previously presented or published will not be considered. The competitor should also give a written pledge stating that the work has not been presented or published before. He / she should be a member of API.

Dr. D. P. Basu Awards are of Rs. 1,000/- each Dr. J. N. Berry Rs. 2,000/- and Dr. M. J. Shah Memorial Award is of ` 2,500/-

Suggesions should be accompanied with eight copies of a brief bio-data of the suggested name, so as to reach not later than 31st October, 2015, to The Association of Physicians of India, Unit No. 6 & 7; Turf Estate, Opp. Shakti Mill Compound, Mahalaxmi, Mumbai – 400 011.

The upper age limit of the competitor is 40 years for all the awards.


Dr. Milind Y. Nadkar
Hon. General Secretary


Dr. Vithalrao Nadgouda Best All India Annual Thesis Award

  1. The award is open to the physicians from various medical institutions / hospitals from India within one year of passing the MD / DNB examination in Medicine / General Medicine / Internal Medicine as on the last date for submission of the application by 31st October, 2015.
  2. There shall be two awards: the first award of Rs. 15,000/- along with a certificate and the second award of Rs. 10,000/- along with a certificate.

Full format is available on API and JAPI websites: www. /


Dr. Milind Y Nadkar Dr. BR Bansode
Hon. General Secretary Joint Secretary


Submission of API Awards Nomination

Recommendations/ nominations are invited from members for the following awards

Dr. Jivraj Mehta National Award 2015 - Four Awards

The selected four candidates will get the award of Gold Medal, TA by Economy Class airfare and stay of one night in the designated Hotel from API at the time of award Function

The above award should reach by 31st October 2015

Best State Chapter and Best City Branch Award

The award is based on overall API activity by the State Chapter / City Branch from 1st January to 31st December, 2015.

Selected City Branch and State Chapter will get the award of Silver Memento and a citation from API.

Chairman / Secretaries of all state Chapters / City Branches are requested to send the report of their activities for the year 2015 by 7th January 2016.

All the above nomination should reach to Hon. General Secretary – API, Dr. Milind Y. Nadkar of API, Unit No. 6 & 7, Turf Estate, Opp. Shakti Mill Compound, Off. Dr. E. Moses Road, Near Mahalaxmi Station West , Mumbai – 400 011.


Dr. Milind Y. Nadkar
Hon. General Secretary